RSS

Random News: Lightning! That is all!

01 Sep

Finally, today is the day. While I know that Final Fantasy XIII receives a lot of hate, I also know that both this game and it’s sequel are generally well liked (suck it, haters). And now, during this whole event around the 25th Anniversary of Final Fantasy, the next and final sequel in the XIII-subseries was announced, being titled Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII.

Personally, this title reminds me of those cheesy, unnecessary movie sequels like Alien: Resurrection. Could’ve just called it Alien 4, no? … Actually, no, because it’s not a direct sequel. WELL, now that I think about it, it also reminds me of something else. Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII. Kind of looks like… Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII. And guess what, that’s almost what it is.

In this new installment that takes place 100 years after the events of XIII-2, you play as the new Avatar Lightning, and only Lightning, in a quest to finally save the world. While this new battle system will dramatically transform the gameplay from the other two games, you will also be able to move your character around in battle, guard in real-time, all that stuff. But I don’t really feel like telling you all this, you can simply read it here.

Earth. Fire. Air. Water. When I was a boy, my father, Avatar Aang, told me the story of how he and his friends heroically ended the Hundred Year War. Avatar Aang and Fire Lord Zuko transformed the Fire Nation colonies into the United Republic of Nations, a society where– Oh wait, wrong sequel.

I’m really excited about this actually. While XIII and XIII-2 haven’t been my favorites at all, they were entertaining and well-concepted, and I’m glad Squeenix actually cares about making good sequels for once, instead of putting out a Final Fantasy XV we know absolutely nothing about yet.

Well, that’s it. That’s really all I wanted to say today. To more Final Fantasy! Cheers!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 01/09/2012 in Random News

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
